Welcome! In today’s post we’ll explore how to become a notary in the state of Minnesota. If you carefully review the below steps, you’ll be on your way towards receiving your own commission and starting your business as a notary public!
Let’s review the basic qualifications first:
- You must be at least 18 years old
- You must live in Minnesota, or in any of the following states (providing that you list the county in Minnesota where you will be filing your application): Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota or Wisconsin.
Also you must attest to the fact that you have never had any of the following investigations and/or convictions:
- An inquiry or investigation with respect to a notary commission or by any division of the Minnesota Commerce Department.
- Any occupational license held by you that has been censured, suspended, revoked, canceled, terminated or been the subject to any type of administrative action in any state including Minnesota.
- Convicted of any criminal offense (including felony, gross misdemeanor and/or misdemeanor.
- Involved in an investigation including fraud, misrepresentation, conversion, mismanagement of funds, breach of fiduciary duty or breach of contract.
If you fall under any of these categories, you are required to document them on the criminal background check form included with the application packet and also include any court documents with your application.
The first step in becoming a notary in Minnesota is to review the Notary Handbook located here. This document is chock-full of useful information that will assist you in the application process and help you during your term as notary.
Next you’ll want to consider taking a notary class. There are several online courses recommended by the state of Minnesota, including:
American Notary Exchange
1939 Elm Ridge Drive
Vista, CA 92081
American Society of Notaries
P.O. Box 5707
Tallahassee, Florida 32314
Now that we’ve covered the basic qualifications and restrictions, and talked about preparing yourself for your term as notary, it’s time to move on to the application process. You can download a .pdf version of the application here. Fill it out carefully and mail it, along with a check or money order in the amount of $120 made payable to the Office of the Secretary of State, to:
Minnesota Secretary of State – Notary
Retirement Systems of Minnesota Building
60 Empire Drive, Suite 100
St. Paul, MN 55103
Please allow two to four weeks to receive your commission in the mail.
There are two tasks you must complete once you receive your commission. The first is to register your commission in the county where you live or plan to work as notary. There is a $20 filing at the county level for this. The second is to purchase a notary stamp. The name on the stamp must match the name on your commission certificate. The Minnesota State website offers a list of places here.
After you’ve completed all of the above steps, you are officially a notary in the state of Minnesota! Congratulations! Please consider dropping us a note to let us know how it went. We always love hearing your success stories.