We hear that you’d like to become a notary in the state of Michigan. Is that the case? Great! We can help you out! Read on…
- You must be 18 years old
- You must either live in Michigan or have a business there.
- You must be a U.S. citizen
- You must be a resident in the county where you’d like to work as notary, or have a business there.
- You must be able to read and write in the English language;
- You must not have had any felony convictions over the past 10 years
- You must not have had 2 or more misdemeanor charges which include a violation of the Michigan Notary Public Act within a 12-month period while working as a notary.
Now that we’ve reviewed those “musts” we can move on to the good stuff – The application process. Download and fill out the application here. Make sure you use the exact same name and address as is listed on your driver’s license. Any discrepancies here could delay your application process. Also, the signature you use on the application must match that on your driver’s license because this is the signature that you will use when notarizing documents.
Before you submit your application with the state, you’ll need to obtain a $10,000 surety bond. This bond protects the public against any errors or mistakes you may make during your commission. You can obtain a surety bond at most insurance agencies or bonding agencies. For a list of agencies, a simple search in your local yellow pages or online search engine should do the trick.
After you obtain your surety bond and finish filling out the application, you need to file the surety bond with your local county clerk’s office. There is a $10.00 fee for filing the bond. You will also take the oath of office at this time, after the county clerk’s office verifies that your application is signed (with your original signature), complete and accurate.
When this is done, you will need to mail your completed application (with a $10.00 non-refundable processing fee, made payable to the State of Michigan) to the following address:
Michigan Department of State
Office of the Great Seal
7064 Crowner Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48918
The Department of State will review your application and may require a background check. Expect to hear from them within 14 days of submitting your application. Once approved, you will receive your commission in the mail at the address you provided on your application (which should match your driver’s license).
Now it’s time to register your notary services with your county courthouse. With your commission certificate in hand, return to the county clerk’s office to register your services. Once done, you are officially a notary in the state of Michigan!
But wait! There’s one more thing! Supplies. You’ll need a Notary public stamp and/or seal. These items can be purchased at most office supply stores or online retailers. Check your local yellow pages or favorite internet search engine for businesses that sell these items.
And now you’re done. Congratulations! Wasn’t that a pain-free process? We’d love to hear your experiences. Drop us a line to let us know how it went. We love hearing from you!